Rockein llega con novedades en su 12ª edición

Music news

Rockein arrives with new features in its 12th edition

The registration period for the band contest Rockin It will remain open from today until July 11.

Today the registration period has started, until July 11, for the twelfth edition of the musical contest Rockin, aimed at bands and soloists from the Basque Autonomous Community and Navarra. From among all the proposals received, a jury made up of professionals from the sector will select six finalists who will perform at the Social Antzokia in Basauri on Saturday, November 16. That same night the jury will decide and notify which bands will be the winners of the 2024 edition.

This year the contest comes with several new features: The “Local” category expands its coverage to musical proposals from the entire Hego Uribe region. Those bands or soloists with at least one person registered in Basauri, Arrigorriaga, Etxebarri, Galdakao, Ugao-Miraballes, Usansolo or Zaratamo will be eligible for the prize in said category. 3 local bands will go to the final of the Social Antzokia (in addition to another 3 that will compete for the main prize), at least one of them always being from Basauri. The winning local proposal will receive as a prize the recording of a video clip, as a novelty compared to previous editions; And in addition, the winner of the main category will also receive as a prize the recording of a video clip, in addition to the recording of an EP of 5 songs at the El Tigre studios in Bilbao. All winning proposals in the four categories of the competition will obtain a paid performance at MAZ Basauri 2025.

The winner of the last edition, Lova Loispresented at today's press conference the works resulting from said award, an EP called 'It's all signs' and the video clip of the song of the same name. (see below).


-Have at least one component born or resident in the Basque Autonomous Community (CAV) or Navarra.
-To be eligible for the Best Local Band award: have at least one member registered in Basauri, Arrigorriaga, Etxebarri, Galdakao, Ugao-Miraballes, Usansolo or Zaratamo.
-To be eligible for the Eskarabillera award: at least 50% of the group members must be women
-That the components are over 16 years old.
-That at the time of registration they do not have more than one released album, regardless of whether or not it is subject to a record contract.
-That the themes are original
-All musical styles are accepted
-All bands previously registered in Rockein have the possibility of participating again in this new edition, as long as they meet the aforementioned requirements. Bands that have already won will not be eligible to repeat in the same category in which they were awarded.


winning group
-Recording of a professional EP (minimum five songs) at El Tigre studios (Bilbao)
-Recording of a professional video clip
-Performance at the MAZ Basauri festival

Best local band
-Recording of a professional video clip
-Performance at the MAZ Basauri festival

Best band in Basque
-Performance at the MAZ Basauri festival

Eskarabillera Award
-Performance at the MAZ Basauri festival

You can access the registration form here

Avatar photo
Simon Müller

Simon Müller is the driving force behind UMusic, embodying a lifelong passion for all things melodious. Born and raised in New York, his love for music took form at an early age and fueled his journey from an avid music enthusiast to the founder of a leading music-centered website. Simon's diverse musical tastes and intrinsic understanding of acoustic elements offer a unique perspective to the UMusic community. Sporting a dedicated commitment to aural enrichment and hearing health, his vision extends beyond just delivering news - he aspires to create a network of informed, appreciative music lovers. Spend a moment in Mueller's company, and you'd find his passion infectious – music isn’t simply his job, it’s his heartbeat.