Manu Chao announces his first album in 17 years, 'Viva Tu'

Music news

Manu Chao announces his first album in 17 years, ‘Viva Tu’

Manu Chao has announced ‘Viva Tu’, his first full-length in 17 years, which will be available on September 20. The Franco-Spanish singer’s last release was ‘La Radiolina’ in 2007.

The first single was the song that gives the album its name, ‘Viva Tu’, with a flamenco sound and the cheerful tone that we are used to from the legendary leader of Mano Negra. On the other hand, ‘São Paulo Motoboy’, released today, is more difficult to classify, always maintaining the good vibe.

One of the most talked about new features of ‘Viva Tu’, which would be Chao’s fifth studio album, is a collaboration with Willie Nelson on the song ‘Heaven’s Bad Day’.


01 Neighbors at Sea
02 The Couleur du Temps
03 River Why
04 Long Live You
05 Heaven’s Bad Day (ft. Willie Nelson)
06 You Leave (ft. Laeti)
07 Heart No Sea
08 Four Streets
09 The Butt
10 Sao Paulo Motoboy
11 Tom and Lola
12 Lonely Night
13 So Many Lands

Avatar photo
Simon Müller

Simon Müller is the driving force behind UMusic, embodying a lifelong passion for all things melodious. Born and raised in New York, his love for music took form at an early age and fueled his journey from an avid music enthusiast to the founder of a leading music-centered website. Simon's diverse musical tastes and intrinsic understanding of acoustic elements offer a unique perspective to the UMusic community. Sporting a dedicated commitment to aural enrichment and hearing health, his vision extends beyond just delivering news - he aspires to create a network of informed, appreciative music lovers. Spend a moment in Mueller's company, and you'd find his passion infectious – music isn’t simply his job, it’s his heartbeat.