'Barbie' snub in BAFTA nominations

Music news

‘Barbie’ snub in BAFTA nominations

The enormous box office success of ‘Barbie’, the most viewed film of 2023 in the world, and its stupendous critical acceptance, have not been enough for Greta Gerwig’s film to have been recognized in two of the most important categories of the BAFTA, the British Academy Film Awards, which has just revealed its full list of nominees.

‘Barbie’ will not compete in the Best Picture category, nor in the Best Director category, and will have to settle for five nominations (including Best Lead Actress, Best Supporting Actor and Best Original Screenplay) of the 15 to which aspired to be in the shortlist of nominees. In comparison, ‘Oppenheimer’ officially receives 13 nominations and ‘Killers of the Flower Moon’ 9.

The BAFTA organization has responded to the surprise over the ‘Barbie’ snub. In an interview with Variety, commission president Anna Higgs explained that “there is nothing predictable” about the nominations and that 2023 has been an “especially competitive” film year.

The issue of parity has also come up for debate, since only one woman is competing in the Best Director category, Justine Triet for ‘Anatomy of a Fall’. Higgs explains that the race is never fair because “of every three male-directed films that are submitted, only one is directed by a woman.” However, he highlights that four nominations in the Best British Film category, one of them for the aforementioned ‘Saltburn’, belong to female directors.

Among the nominations at the BAFTAs, ‘The Snow Society’ by Spaniard Juan Antonio Bayona stands out in the list of Best Foreign Language Film.

Best film
‘Anatomy of a Fall’, by Justine Triet
​’Those Who Remain’, by Alexander Payne
​’The Moon Killers’, by Martin Scorsese
‘Oppenheimer’, by Christopher Nolan
​’Poor Creatures’, by Yorgos Lanthimos

Best address
Andrew Haigh for ‘Unknowns’
​Justine Triet for ‘Anatomy of a Fall’
Alexander Payne for ‘Those Who Remain’
​Bradley Cooper for ‘Master’
​Christopher Nolan for ‘Oppenheimer’
​Jonathan Glazer for ‘The Zone of Interest’

Best leading actress
Fantasia Barrino for ‘The Color Purple’
​Sandra Hüller for ‘Anatomy of a Fall’
​Carey Mulligan for ‘Master’
​Vivian Oparah for ‘Rye Lane’
​Margot Robbie for ‘Barbie’
Emma Stone for ‘Poor Creatures’

Best Leading Actor
Bradley Cooper for ‘Master’
Colman Domingo for ‘Rustin’
​Paul Giamatti for ‘Those Who Remain’
​Barry Keoghan for ‘Saltburn’
​Cillian Murphy for ‘Oppenheimer’
Teo Yoo for ‘Past Lives’

Best Supporting Actress
Emily Blunt for ‘Oppenheimer’
​Danielle Brooks for ‘The Color Purple’
​Claire Foy for ‘Unknowns’
​Sandra Hüller for ‘The Zone of Interest’
​Rosamund Pike for ‘Saltburn’
Da’vine Joy Randolph for ‘Those Who Remain’

Best Supporting Actor
Robert De Niro for ‘The Moon Killers’
​Robert Downey Jr. for ‘Oppenheimer’
​Jacob Elordi for ‘Saltburn’
​Ryan Gosling for ‘Barbie’
​Paul Mescal for ‘Unknowns’
​Dominic Sessa for ‘Those who stay’

best british film
‘Unknowns’, by Andrew Haigh
​’How to Have Sex’, by Molly Manning Walker
‘Napoleon’, by Ridley Scott
​’The Old Oak’, by Ken Loach
​’Poor Creatures’, by Yorgos Lanthimos
​’Rye Lane’, by Raine Allen Miller
​’Saltburn’, by Emerald Fennell
​’Scrapper’, by Charlotte Regan
​’Wonka’, by Paul King
​’The Zone of Interest’, by Jonathan Glazer

Best animated film
‘The Boy and the Heron’, by Hayao Miyazaki
​’Chicken Run: Dawn of the Nuggets’, by Sam Fell
​’Elementary’, by Peter Sohn
​’Spider-Man: Crossing the Multiverse’, by Joaquim Dos Santos, Kemp Powers & Justin Thompson

Best foreign language film
’20 days in Mariupol’, by Mstyslav Chernov
​’Anatomy of a Fall’, by Justine Triet
​’Past Lives’, by Celine Song
​’The Snow Society’, by JA Bayona
​’The Zone of Interest’, by Jonathan Glazer

Best documentary film
’20 days in Mariupol’, by Mstyslav Chernov
​’American Symphony’, by Matthew Heineman
‘Beyond Utopia’, by Madeleine Gavin
​’The Life of Michael J. Fox’, by Davis Guggenheim
‘Wham!’ by Chris Smith

Best original screenplay
Justine Triet & Arthur Harari for ‘Anatomy of a Fall’
​Greta Gerwig & Noah Baumbach for ‘Barbie’
​David Hemingson for ‘Those Who Remain’
Bradley Cooper & Josh Singer for ​’Maestro’
​Celine Song for ‘Past Lives’

Best adapted screenplay
Andrew Haigh for ‘Unknowns’
Cord Jefferson for ‘American Fiction’
Christopher Nolan for ‘Oppenheimer’
Tony McNamara for ‘Poor Creatures’
​Jonathan Glazer for ‘The Zone of Interest’

Best photography
Rodrigo Prieto for ‘The Assassins of the Moon’
​Matthew Libatique for ‘Master’
​Hoyte van Hoytema by ‘Oppenheimer’
​Robbie Ryan for ‘Poor Creatures’
​Łukasz Żal for ‘The Zone of Interest’

Best assembly
Laurent Sénéchal for ‘Anatomy of a Fall’
​Thelma Schoonmaker for ‘The Moon Killers’
​Jennifer Lame for ‘Oppenheimer’
​Yorgos Mavropsaridis for ‘Poor Creatures’
​Paul Watts for ‘The Zone of Interest’

Best Original Score
Robbie Robertson for ‘Moon Killers’
​Ludwig Göransson for ‘Oppenheimer’
​Jerskin Fendrix for ‘Poor Creatures’
Anthony Willis for ‘Saltburn’
​Daniel Pemberton for ‘Spider-Man: Crossing the Multiverse’

Better sound
​’Mission: Impossible – Deadly Sentence. Part 1′
​’The area of ​​interest’

Best casting
​’Anatomy of a fall’
​’Those who stay’
​’How to Have Sex’
​’The Moon Killers’

Best costume design
Jacqueline Durran for ‘Barbie’
Jacqueline West for ‘The Moon Killers’
​Dave Crossman & Janty Yates for ‘Napoleon’
​Ellen Mirojnick for ‘Oppenheimer’
Holly Waddington for ‘Poor Creatures’

Best makeup and hair
‘The Moon Killers’
​’Poor creatures’

Best production design
​’The Moon Killers’
​’Poor creatures’
​’The area of ​​interest’

Better visual effects
‘The Creator’
​’Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3′
‘Mission: Impossible – Deadly Sentence. Part 1’
​’Poor creatures’

Best British Short
‘Festival of Slaps’, by Abdou Cisse
‘Gorka’, by Joe Weiland
​’Jellyfish and Lobster’, by Yasmin Afifi
​’Such a Lovely Day’, by Simon Woods
​’Yellow’, by Elham Ehsas

Best British Animated Short
‘Crab Day’ by Ross Stringer
​Visible Mending’, by Samantha Moore
​’Wild Summon’, by Karni Arieli & Saul Freed

British revelation
Lisa Selby (direction), Rebecca Lloyd-Evans (direction, production) & Alex Fry (production) for ‘Blue Bag Life’
Christopher Sharp (direction) for ‘Bobi Wine: The People’s President’
Savanah Leaf (screenplay, direction, production), Shirley O’Connor (production) & Medb Riordan (production) for ‘Earth Mama’
Molly Manning Walker (screenplay, direction) for ‘How to Have Sex’
Ella Glendining (direction) for ‘Is There Anybody Out There?’

Rising star (public vote)
Phoebe Dynevor
Ayo Edebiri
Jacob Elordi
Mia McKenna-Bruce
Sophie Wilde

Avatar photo
Simon Müller

Simon Müller is the driving force behind UMusic, embodying a lifelong passion for all things melodious. Born and raised in New York, his love for music took form at an early age and fueled his journey from an avid music enthusiast to the founder of a leading music-centered website. Simon's diverse musical tastes and intrinsic understanding of acoustic elements offer a unique perspective to the UMusic community. Sporting a dedicated commitment to aural enrichment and hearing health, his vision extends beyond just delivering news - he aspires to create a network of informed, appreciative music lovers. Spend a moment in Mueller's company, and you'd find his passion infectious – music isn’t simply his job, it’s his heartbeat.