Taylor Swift tries to secure No. 1 for 'Cruel Summer'

Music news

Taylor Swift tries to secure No. 1 for ‘Cruel Summer’

Taylor Swift has swept this summer thanks to ‘The Eras Tour’, her mammoth world tour, whose film is being another huge success at the box office, but she has also been very present thanks to her single ‘Cruel Summer’.

Originally published in 2019, within the album ‘Lover’, the song went viral this summer, it was later sent to radio stations, and its success has been consolidated on official charts: on the Billboard Hot 100 it has reached number 3, a excellent and unusual data for a topic published four years ago. On Spotify, it remains among the 10 most listened to songs in the world.

Hurricane Drake has meant that ‘Cruel Summer’ has dropped from 3 to 9 on Billboard this week, but Taylor is not going to pass up the opportunity for the song to give her her 10th number 1 in the country. With this information, Taylor would tie Janet Jackson and Stevie Wonder.

‘Cruel Summer’ is predicted to reach No. 1 on Billboard next week, and Taylor has come up with a way to secure that position. Today, Swift has released an EP, ‘The Cruelest Summer’, which brings together three versions of the song: the live one from ‘The Eras Tour’, a remix from LP Giobbi, and the original. Additionally, she has lowered the price of all three tracks to $0.69. Will the strategy work?

Since 2019, Swift has released three all-new studio albums, ‘Folklore’ (2020), ‘Evermore’ (2021) and ‘Midnights’ (2022), and three re-recorded albums, the “Taylor’s Version” of ‘Fearless’ (2021 ), ‘Red’ (2021) and ‘Speak Now’ (2023). The enormous success of ‘Cruel Summer’, surely not unrelated to the fact that this summer has been one of the hottest on record, was already unusual, so its possible arrival at number 1 in the United States would be even more unusual. still. It would be added to the following 9:

1.- We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together, 2012
2.- Shake it Off, 2014
3.- Blank Space, 2014
4.- Bad Blood, 2015
5.- Look What You Made Me Do, 2017
6.- Cardigan, 2020
7.- Willow, 2020
8.- All Too Well (10 Minute Version), 2021
9.- Anti-Hero, 2023

Avatar photo
Simon Müller

Simon Müller is the driving force behind UMusic, embodying a lifelong passion for all things melodious. Born and raised in New York, his love for music took form at an early age and fueled his journey from an avid music enthusiast to the founder of a leading music-centered website. Simon's diverse musical tastes and intrinsic understanding of acoustic elements offer a unique perspective to the UMusic community. Sporting a dedicated commitment to aural enrichment and hearing health, his vision extends beyond just delivering news - he aspires to create a network of informed, appreciative music lovers. Spend a moment in Mueller's company, and you'd find his passion infectious – music isn’t simply his job, it’s his heartbeat.