Rockein anuncia los finalistas de su undécima edición

Music news

Rockein announces the finalists of its eleventh edition

Rockein announces the finalists of its eleventh edition

The musical projects Ben Santana, Lova Lois and Nun They compete for the main prize of the band contest Rockinwhich will take place on November 18 at the Social Antzokia in Basauri.

The multidisciplinary artist from Bilbao Ben Santana (trap, rap, hip-hop), Lova Loisalter ego of the Astrabudua rapper, poet and singer-songwriter Lola González Guerricaechebarria, and Nunthe solo project of the Vitorian singer-songwriter Arian Herrero, are the three proposals that are candidates to win the main prize of Rockin. The eleventh edition, which will take place on Saturday, November 18, at the Social Antzokia in Basauri, with standing seating and free admission, will also feature performances by the metal quintet Empire Of Disease, Islabatan intimate rock project by Elgoibartarra Asier Olabarrieta, and Sweet Rage, cutting-edge Biscayan metal sextet. The three bands will compete for the Best Local Artist award, which rewards those projects with at least one member registered in Basauri, Arrigorriaga, Galdakao or Laudio. Furthermore, both Lova Lois as Nun They will also be eligible for the Eskarabillera award and Nun and Islabatfor the Best Artist in Basque award.

As usual, the identity of the winning projects in the 4 Rockein categories (including Best Artist in Basque and the Eskarabillera Award) will be announced directly by the jury after the final. On July 11, the registration period for the eleventh edition of Rockin, the musical competition aimed at soloists and bands from the Basque Autonomous Community and Navarra, organized by the Basauri City Council, with the collaboration of the Arrigorriaga, Galdakao and Laudio City Councils and the Bizkaia Provincial Council. 191 artists have registered, marking a new Rockein participation record for the eighth consecutive year.

The professional jury that selected the finalist proposals was made up of Arantzazu Pinto ‘Nara’, Álvaro Fierro, Amets Rodríguez, Jon Agirrezabalaga, Sara Zozaya, Iker Bárbara, Joseba Vegas, Jon Hervás and Jon Zugazagoitia.


Saturday, November 18

9:00 p.m. (doors open), 9:30 p.m. (concerts start)

Main category

Local category

Free access


winning group
-Recording, production and mastering of a professional EP (minimum five songs) at El Tigre studios (Bilbao)
-Edition of 500 copies of the EP on CD support
-Recording and production of a professional video clip
-Performance within the MAZ Basauri festival or in one of the best venues in Bizkaia

Best local band
-Performance within the MAZ Basauri festival or in one of the best venues in Bizkaia

Best band in Basque
-Recording and production of a song
-Performance within the MAZ Basauri festival or in one of the best venues in Bizkaia

Eskarabillera Award
-Performance within the MAZ Basauri festival or in one of the best venues in Bizkaia

Avatar photo
Simon Müller

Simon Müller is the driving force behind UMusic, embodying a lifelong passion for all things melodious. Born and raised in New York, his love for music took form at an early age and fueled his journey from an avid music enthusiast to the founder of a leading music-centered website. Simon's diverse musical tastes and intrinsic understanding of acoustic elements offer a unique perspective to the UMusic community. Sporting a dedicated commitment to aural enrichment and hearing health, his vision extends beyond just delivering news - he aspires to create a network of informed, appreciative music lovers. Spend a moment in Mueller's company, and you'd find his passion infectious – music isn’t simply his job, it’s his heartbeat.