Neil Young brings together 13 re-recorded classics on a single track

Music news

Neil Young brings together 13 re-recorded classics on a single track

Neil Young, recently claimed by Sufjan Stevens in his album ‘Javelin’, continues to give news to his followers. ‘Chrome Dreams’, his “lost” album recorded between 1974 and 1976, was released last August, and now another one is announced.

But don’t get your hopes up: ‘Before and After’ will simply be an album of acoustic covers. Young has put together the repertoire choosing songs from throughout his career. And he has taken the pleasure of putting them all together in a single 48-minute track.

‘Before and After’ comes out on December 8, and the first half can now be heard on YouTube. Jeff Tweedy of Wilco is one of the credited musicians, on this album produced by Young with Lou Adler, on which Young has played the majority of instruments.

In a statement, Young says that ‘Before and After’ brings together the “songs of his life”, re-recorded, creating “a musical montage without beginning or end.” “The feeling is captured, not in fragments, but in a complete piece,” she narrates.
01 I’m The Ocean
02 Homefires
03 Burned
04 On The Way Home
05 If You Got Love
06 A Dream That Can Last
07 Birds
08 My Heart
09 When I Hold You In My Arms
10 Mother Earth
11 Mr. Soul
12 Comes A Time
13 Don’t Forget Love

Avatar photo
Simon Müller

Simon Müller is the driving force behind UMusic, embodying a lifelong passion for all things melodious. Born and raised in New York, his love for music took form at an early age and fueled his journey from an avid music enthusiast to the founder of a leading music-centered website. Simon's diverse musical tastes and intrinsic understanding of acoustic elements offer a unique perspective to the UMusic community. Sporting a dedicated commitment to aural enrichment and hearing health, his vision extends beyond just delivering news - he aspires to create a network of informed, appreciative music lovers. Spend a moment in Mueller's company, and you'd find his passion infectious – music isn’t simply his job, it’s his heartbeat.